Yeah I will proudly belt out the lyrics of ‘Single Ladies’ before listening to the Mumford & Sons album because I’m a basic bitch like that.

Firstly, when you read this mom, sorry for you using the word b*tch to refer to myself. You need to know it’s an internet thing.

It comes down to this… I did a buzzfeed quiz and well yeah, I’m a basic bitch. And yes I will rock my basic bitchness forever, but what is a basic bitch you my ask? “Someone who is unflinchingly upholding of the status quo and stereotypes of their gender without even realizing it. She engages in typical, unoriginal behaviors, modes of dress, speech, and likes. She is tragically/laughably unaware of her utter lack of specialness and intrigue.” – Urban Dictionary. So in essence, shes your average, everyday girl, and just that.

If you happen to love One Direction, or find the idea of binge watching F.R.I.E.N.D.S while eating way to much fro-yo. You’re a basic bitch. And that’s okay, because no there is nothing wrong with being a little bit,(or very) mainstream.

According to Cosopolitian, Lauren Conrad was labelled basic. Yes, the same woman who has a hit fashion line, 8 top selling books and over 3.3 million followers on Twitter. And here you thought being basic was a bad thing.

I’m basic, and proud! I’m not cool enough to know every new alternative rock band to spring up, but I do listen to the radio and rap along to the two Kanye West songs I know, I read the Harry Potter book series, I love J Law and I still say YOLO, these are the things that make me basic. But don’t ever doubt me. I work, I write, I blog, I pray, I learn, I love, I hurt, I tweet, I have an undying love for potatoes and bathtubs, I strive for greatness and sometimes I even work out. There is no reason being basic should stop you from kicking ass and taking names, take your basic and embrace it.

So girl, don’t worry about the haters, because boy will they hate! Just carry on posting those pictures of your coffee on Instagram, searching for hairstyle inspiration on Pinterest, practicing your twerk, and singing along to Beyonce, because being basic is best. Keep doing you, you’re the best you’ve got.

Please note** We know you listen to Hozier, but you’re still a basic bitch, not even Take Me To Church can change that.

Leave a Reply

