The Boyfriend

image

Because for some reason, in every day conversations I get asked why I don’t have a boyfriend. As if this “boyfriend” will be the perfect answer to life’s unsolvable questions.

And now don’t you get to thinking I’m about to justify or explain why I choose not to update my relationship status on Facebook. I’m about to tell you why, as a 21 year old woman, it’s okay to be me, alone, and still kick ass and take names.

Want & Need – I NEED water in my life to live, I WANT biltong in my life because I enjoy eating it. There is a difference. Realise that you don’t need a man to make you happy, and when you are sad, there is always biltong.

Compromise – We all know that relationships are about compromise. But you know what? Right now I am the most selfish person I know. Whether it be time, money or effort, I can choose who and what I want to spend it on, and yes, most of it is spent on me. And that’s okay.

Me – You know what I learnt about myself the other day, I learnt that I can say no. For the first time, with no hesitation, I said no to a telesales man trying to sell me life insurance. Because today I’m growing into my own person and not trying to be the person “boyfriend” expects me to be. A person that can say, “No we don’t need a printer cartridge from you.”

Beyonce – Never let a man treat you anything less than Beyonce. Respect. honesty, or a nice ass, high standards is an understatement, you have the right to have your perfect man list. I’m not saying he exists, but a girl can dream can’t she?

Work it – There is nothing more enjoyable than realising you are someone that doesnt need to depend on another person. To know you did it, and everything you gained, you earned it. Be your own bread winner.

Do you – Yes we’ve heard the saying but seriously, do you. Being alone I have genuinely learnt there is no one else I’d rather be than the person I am, no matter how much shade and hate you throw at me, I’m still going to do me. The other day I was told, ” Oh you’re such a typical Joburg girl that uses all the typical phrases on social media.” Uh yes, did you not read the post? I am a basic bitch and thoroughly okay with it. For realzies.

So as much as I get the #ForeverAlone joke, you will not be seeing It’s Complicated on Facebook any time soon. I’m young and awesome as heck alone, why would I change that. And as much as I hate to disagree with the Queen herself, but seriously Beyonce, if he likes it, he doesn’t HAVE to put a ring on it. Maybe he could just befriend it, take it out for dinner, and see where it goes.

So when you ask me about the status that makes it sound like I’m in love, nope I just genuinely like the song.
So no I don’t have a boyfriend, yet here I am, kicking ass and taking names all day ere day.

Leave a Reply

