We know Miss South Africa does it, apparently even politicians do it and surprise, surprise, so do I.

Yes, I volunteer.

Volunteering is generally considered an selfless activity and is intended to promote goodness or improve human quality of life. In return, this activity can produce a feeling of self-worth and respect.

From visiting the townships in South Africa to distribute food and clothing to the locals, to a trip to the rural villages of Mozambique and staying at The Home of Hope in Cape Town, I’ve had the most amazing time on every trip, met the craziest of people and learned more than you will ever know.

I’ve met a witch doctor who let us stay on the land he owned, I know what it’s like to live with children that have been diagnosed with Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, I’ve used a long drop toilet. The kind of experiences money cannot buy and memories that will last forever are just some of the reasons to volunteer, there is so much more that volunteering can do for you.

There are so many reasons to volunteer, and I won’t bore you with all of them but don’t think you’re getting away with not hearing a few of them!

1. Gain professional experience – Why not do something that will add to your C.V. and only take a teenie bit of your time.

2.Strengthen your community – You live there, shouldn’t you also be responsible.

3. Personal growth – There is nothing more important than figuring out who you are, and you are guaranteed to learn more about yourself.

4. Experiences – I have met a lady who carries 20 liters of fresh water by herself for kilometers back to her village for her family to use, I’ve attempted playing soccer at an orphanage in Venda, and then lost that exact same soccer game, I fell in love with a little boy named Simba who made me smile by just looking at me and then you ask if you should volunteer…

And fancy the coincidence of me posting this and it also being International Volunteer Week, absolutely crazy! If you have ever thought of doing anything of this sort, check out If I Could at http://ificould.co.za/happy-volunteer-week/ and get involved in some of the best programs and internships around.

Leave a Reply

